SMTA- AU Student Chapter Officers

Peter Sakalaukus

Kalyan Dornala

SMTA AU-Student Chapter President
Kalyan is currently a Grad Student at Auburn University working towards his PhD in Mechanical Engineering. He joined CAVE3 Research Center in Fall 2013. He received his undergraduate degree in Mechanical Engineering from Acharya Nagarjuna University, India in 2011. His research interests include Harsh Environment Electronics Reliability; Shock & Vibration Testing of Electronics Packaging Systems; Finite Element Analysis; Survivability Assessment and Prognostics. Kalyan's role as the Student Chapter President is to update the SMTA Student Chapter on upcoming events, such as conferences, workshops, and webinars. 

Nakul Kothari

Kartik Goyal

SMTA AU- Student Chapter Vice President
Kartik is currently a Grad Student in Mechanical Engineering at Auburn University, working towards my Ph.D. He came to Auburn University in fall 2014 under a collaborative program between Auburn and a university in India, in which he was allowed to complete his Freshman and Sophomore years in India and his Junior and Senior years at Auburn. Kartik received his Bachelor's Degree at Auburn University in Mechanical Engineering, May 2016. Kartik's future goal is to work in the R&D Electronics Packaging Facility and try to solve the challenges faced by the packaging community. His research areas focus on Reliability of Flexible Electronics Subjected to Harsh Environments Using: Finite Element Analysis, 3D Image Re-Construction Using Micro- CT Scan. Kartik's role as a Vice President is to promote the SMTA Student Chapter at Auburn, along with helping other members in their work.

Junchao Wei

Junchao Wei
SMTA AU- Student Chapter Secretary

Junchao was born in 1988. He graduated from a Mechanical Engineering school located in China, June of 2011.Junchao has been enrolled in Grad School at Auburn University since August of 2011, majoring in Mechanical Engineering and works as a Research Assistant for the CAVE3 (The Center for Advanced Vehicle and Extreme Environment Electronics). He is a Secretary of SMTA Student Chapter at Auburn University. His research areas include X-ray CT scan defects detection and 3D image reconstruction; finite element analysis; deformation measurement; electronics reliability and algorithm prognostication; computational models for a reliability of thermo-mechanical test.

Shantanu Dephpande

Nakul Kothari

SMTA AU-Student Chapter Treasurer

Nakul is a PhD Student studying Mechanical Engineering at Auburn University. He works in the NSF CAVE3 Center on Studying Reliability of Electronics, Finite Element Analysis, and Reliability of MEMS Sensors. Nakul has always liked to remain active in organizations and college clubs related to his interest. Nakul has been a part of the SMTA Chapter at Auburn University in the past and hopes to continue doing so this year as the Treasurer of the our Student Chapter.

Dr. Pradeep Lall

Dr. Pradeep Lall

SMTA AU-Student Chapter Faculty Advisor
Pradeep Lall is the John and Anne MacFarlane Endowed Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering.  He is Director of the Harsh Environment Node of NextFlex, and Director of the NSF Center for Advanced Vehicle and Extreme Environment Electronics at Auburn University.  He is author and co-author of 2-books, 14 book chapters, and over 470 journal and conference papers in the field of electronics reliability, safety, energy efficiency, and survivability.  Dr. Lall, a fellow of the ASME and the IEEE, is recipient of the NSF-IUCRC Association’s Alex Schwarzkopf Award, Alabama Academy of Science Wright A, Gardner Award, IEEE Exceptional Technical Achievement Award, ASME-EPPD Applied Mechanics Award, SMTA’s Member of Technical Distinction Award, Auburn University’s Creative Research and Scholarship Award, SEC Faculty Achievement Award, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering Senior Faculty Research Award, Three-Motorola Outstanding Innovation Awards, Five-Motorola Engineering Awards, and Twenty Best-Paper Awards at national and international conferences.  Dr. Lall has served in several distinguished roles at national and international level including serving as member of National Academies Committee on Electronic Vehicle Controls, Member of the IEEE Reliability Society AdCom, IEEE Reliability Society Representative on the IEEE-USA Government Relations Council for R&D Policy, Chair of Congress Steering Committee for the ASME Congress, Member of the technical committee of the European Simulation Conference EuroSIME, Associate Editor for the IEEE Access Journal, and Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Components and Packaging Technologies.  Dr. Lall is the founding faculty advisor for the SMTA student chapter at Auburn University and member of the editorial advisory board for SMTA Journal.  He received the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Maryland and the M.B.A. from the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University.